Meetings and Separations

 

Usually, X-mast is the time of happy meetings and it didn’t prove wrong on the photographic area, I was finally able to have all my equipment back with me!. You may remember from my last post that my M2 had a viewfinder blackout and was sent to DAG for re-cementing the prism, a minor CLA’d was also performed and now it is in great working condition. It was now the turn for the M6: I sent it to DAG to have the viewfinder improved up to the MP standards by implementing the anti-flare mechanism. I use the M6 mostly in low light situations with the Nokton 50mm f/1,5 at full aperture; the M6’s native viewfinder – rangefinder patch flared a lot, so I decided to go for the upgrade. Almost two months later this beauty is back, better than ever, with a great low light performer viewfinder and with a minor calibration and adjusting in the curtains and shutter speeds.

There were a couple of movements during the Winter’s Transfer Market: the Voigtlander Super Wide Heliar 15mm f/4,5  arrived along with the Leica IIIf (as a result of a series of fortunate/unfortunate events which deserve and will have their own entry) and the very sought after Rollei Sonnar 40mm f/2.8

Unfortunately, these gains came at a cost: the Heliar 50mm f/2.0 and the Voigtlander Color Skopar 50mm F/2.5 … I really liked the Heliar 50mm, however I had to stick to one lens at each focal distance, so I kept the Nokton and sold both the Heliar and the Color Skopar

Now, with the 90mm C- Elmar f/4 on its way, the kit is finally getting form: 15, 35, 50 and 90, only the 25mm will be missing. All in all I think that I will finally be able to send a picture of my equipment to Japan Camera Hunter, In your bag series.

At the moment I will let you with a preview of the “new” Leica IIIf .

Leave a Reply

